Gov. Reynolds issues disaster proclamation for 7 counties after weekend severe weather

Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds

Gov. Reynolds has issued disaster proclamations for seven counties after flooding and severe weather hit Iowa over the weekend.

The proclamation applies to Allamakee, Bremer, Chickasaw, Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Howard and Winneshiek counties.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $41,560 for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food and temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.

Applications for the grants can be found on the Iowa Department of Human Services website.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off