Gov. Reynolds issues disaster proclamation for 21 counties after flooding

    Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds

    Gov. Kim Reynolds has issued a disaster proclamation affecting 21 counties in response to widespread flooding and severe weather beginning March 13th and continuing.

    The proclamation applies to the following counties: Butler, Cerro Gordo, Clayton, Hancock, Harrison, Humboldt, Ida, Iowa, Kossuth, Mills, Monona, Montgomery, O'Brien, Pottawattamie, Sioux, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, Worth, and Wright.

    The governor's proclamations allow state resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of this severe weather and activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program for qualifying residents, along with the Disaster Case Management Program.

    The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $41,560 for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food and temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.

    Applications for the grants can be found on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Applications are due by April 29, 2019.

    News In Photos

      Loading ...