CBS 2 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

Dept. Directors Named for DAS, Public Health

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) -- Gov. Terry Branstad has named new directors for the Iowa Department of Administrative Services and the Department of Public Health.
   Janet Phipps Burkhead is the new director of DAS, replacing Mike Carroll, who was fired on April 8 after a controversy developed over settlement agreements.
   DAS maintains state buildings, grounds and monuments around the Iowa Capitol and includes the state government's human resources department.
   Phipps Burkhead, who has a law degree from Drake University, began working as DAS general counsel in February.
   Branstad also named Gerd Clabaugh director of the Iowa Department of Public Health. He succeeds Mariannette Miller-Meeks, who resigned in January.
   Clabaugh had been serving as interim director since Jan. 9.
   Both appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.

Copyright 2014 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.
Advertise with us!
Brought to you by:
Brought to you by:

Washington Times

Sponsored content