CBS 2 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

Iowa Teachers Win National Award

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) -- Educators from Des Moines and Shell Rock were among 102 teachers given a Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

The White House made the announcement Friday, giving the award to teachers from all 50 states plus the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Department of Defense Education Activity.

The recipients will be invited to Washington next year to receive their awards.

In Iowa, the winners were Josie Burg, a math teacher in Des Moines, and Mason Kuhn, a science teacher in Shell Rock.

Winners of the award receive $10,000 from the National Science Foundation.

Copyright 2013 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.
Advertise with us!
Brought to you by:
Brought to you by:

Washington Times

Sponsored content