CBS 2 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

Presidential Disaster Declared For Iowa Counties

DES MOINES (AP) -- President Barack Obama has issued a disaster declaration for 47 Iowa counties. Gov. Terry Branstad sent the request for the declaration on June 19, in response to significant damage that was caused by heavy rains, thunderstorms and flooding in those counties between May 19 and June 14, 2013.

The governor announced Tuesday that Obama had approved his request, meaning the counties will be eligible to receive federal funding for recovery efforts. Those funds could go to repairs, debris removal, loans for communities or grants to schools.

The counties covered by the declaration include Benton, Buchanan, Delaware, Iowa, Jones, Johnson, and Linn.

Branstad also said that as part of this declaration the state will receive funding to take steps to strengthen infrastructure and limit the impact of future natural disasters.

“AP contributed to this report.”

Advertise with us!
Brought to you by:
Brought to you by:

Washington Times

Sponsored content