CBS 2 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

Obama Declares Disaster Areas for April Floods

WASHINGTON D.C. (CBS 2/FOX 28) - President Barack Obama Monday declared five Iowa counties disaster areas in the wake of heaving winter storm damage in early April - but not Johnson County.

The announcement allows for federal aid for Dickinson, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola and Sioux counties in the wake of the April 9-11th storms.The Federal designation allows local governments and some non-profit organizations help to repair or replace facilities damaged by the storms.

Most of the damage was related to a late, wet winter storm which brought freezing rain which tumbled powerlines, trees and other structures.

According to Branstad, the declaration also includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activiteis for the entire state to prepare for future natural disasters.

Advertise with us!
Brought to you by:
Brought to you by:

Washington Times

Sponsored content