CBS 2 - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

Vouchers Available for Disaster Relief in 8 Iowa Counties

(North Liberty - April 17th)

DES MOINES, IA (AP) -- Flood victims in eight eastern Iowa counties who are eligible for the state's low-income disaster grant program can apply for vouchers if they don't have cash to make repairs.

   The program managed by the Iowa Department of Human Services will provide up to $5,000 in grants to people in Cedar, Johnson, Mahaska, Scott, Washington, Lee, Muscatine and Iowa counties. Gov. Terry Branstad issued disaster proclamations for those counties, which dealt with flooding in mid-April.

   To qualify, people can have household incomes up to twice the federal poverty level. That's a gross annual income of about $31,000 for a family of two.

   Eligible people without money available for repairs can contact local Community Action Agencies and seek vouchers.   

Copyright 2013 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Advertise with us!
Brought to you by:
Brought to you by:

Washington Times

Sponsored content